Hardware Requirement Combat / Adventure Economy
General Support Property / Construction
World / History Monsters Guilds
Characters & Races Craft Skills / Trades Forums

Characters & Races

What are the playable races in Istaria?

<Go to characters>

There are eleven playable races in Istaria; Dragons, Dwarves, Dryads, Elves, Fiends, Gnomes, Half-Giants, Humans, Saris, Satyr, and Sslik. Dryads and Satyrs have been released through the actions of the players and in-game events since the game was released.

Is what I do in the game determined by my choice of character race?

We want players to be able to play the game the way that they want to play it. Your choice of race won't limit you to play the game in a certain way. Dragons are an exception to this, however. They have dedicated skills and different rules with respect to items and what they can do in the world. A dragon character will still be able to act in many of the same roles as other races, though. It will not be necessary for you to start over as a new character if you decide to explore a different role in the game.

How can I make my character look unique?

Characters in Istaria have a number of ways to differentiate themselves from one another. The species and gender you choose will be the most obvious difference between you and another character, but we offer many other ways as well. Your appearance is fully customizable. Players can change their character's skin tone, hairstyle, hair color, facial features, apparent age, as well as their clothing. We also support morphing your body structure from fat to thin, muscular to wiry, and everywhere in-between. And finally, besides regular armor and weapons (of which there is a vast selection), there are lots of social clothing options to choose from.

Can my character die?

Yes, you can. But unlike many other MMORPGs, Istaria has a less severe death penalty. Death is something to be avoided, obviously, but it is not something that makes you feel as if you've wasted a whole night because you got unlucky once. When a player dies, they can sit around as a corpse waiting to be revived by friends, or they can choose to be sent to their bind point with all items intact and no lost experience or skills. There are Death Points once a character reaches level 10 that causes you to be temporarily weakened (if you die too often. This is called Death Sickness). The amount of time this weakness remains depends upon how many Death Points you have. Death Points go away over time or through consuming food.

<Back To Top Of Page >